Playing The Port


On The Cover
Michael Moore

I don’t like explaining my art to people; I want them to explain it to themselves. I hope people who view my art make a personal connection with it.

When I began creating art, I worked in realism. I reproduced what I saw. But in my newer pieces, I have reverted back to how art made me feel, even before that, when I was a child. I was a loner and art became my friend and kept me entertained. In fact, the escape from realism totally engrosses me and in escaping it, I’ve also escaped reality in a positive way. My current work deals with themes of my inner turmoil – religion, sexuality and bi-polar disorder – but the finished product is far from dark and sinister. In fact, the heavy black lines are in homage to the coloring books of my youth, when art was new to me.

Adapting my personal style from heroes like Picasso, Van Gogh and Clyde Connell, and learning the realities of being a working artist from Marc Rawls, I have become a professional. But somewhere, inside my work and my work ethic, is a child coloring and entertaining himself.

What people make of that child and his creation is totally up to them.

More of my work can be seen on my website Northwest Louisiana Art Gallery:
www.nwlaartgallery.com

~ by Voltima on March 26, 2010.

One Response to “Playing The Port”

  1. One of the best yet most unappreciated artists in SB. Buy his art!

Leave a Reply

 
Sell with WP

News, Tips, & Tricks for Selling Online with WordPress

WPMU DEV Blog

The WPMU DEV Blog provides tutorials, tips, resources and reviews to help out any WordPress user

pawichiz

perception is reality

Ultimatum Theme

WordPress Theme Builder

